SWEDINT’s Advisory Board is a consultative body of international experts from around the world with extensive knowledge and experience of peace support operations and conflict resolution. The expertise and experience of the Advisory Board supports SWEDINT with awareness and strategic thinking in pre-deployment training.

The Advisory Board consists of six members comprising deep and diverse expertise in the field of peace support operations and conflict resolution. 

Dr. Adriana Erthal Abdenur

Dr. Adriana Erthal Abdenur, Brazil, is coordinator of the International Peace and Security division of Instituto Igarapé, as well as a member of the UN ECOSOC Committee on Development Policy. Dr. Abdenur has experience from former employment as a consultant to the World Bank, the Inter-American Bank, and several agencies of the United Nations.

Commissioner Awale Abdounasir

Commissioner Awale Abdounasir, Djibouti, is currently the Police Commissioner in the United Nations Organizations Stabilization Mission in the DR Congo. Commissioner Abdounasir previously served as the Head of the Police in the United Nation Multidimensional Integrated Stabilization Mission in Mali.
Police Commissioner A Abounassir
Swedint Advisory Board

Dr. Cedric de Coning

Dr. Cedric de Coning, South Africa, is a Senior Research Fellow with the Peace, Conflict and Development Research Group at the Norwegian Institute of International Affairs (NUPI), where he also co-convenes the NUPI Center on UN and Global Governance and coordinates the Effectiveness of Peace Operations Network (EPON). He is also a Senior Advisor for the African Centre for the Constructive Resolution of Disputes (ACCORD), where he is also the Chief Editor of the COVID-19 Conflict & Resilience Monitor.
Cedric de Coning, Swedint Advisory Board

Ambassador Ellen Margrethe Löj

Ambassador Ellen Margrethe Loej, Denmark, previously served as Special Representative and Head of the United Nations Mission in the Republic of South Sudan (2014-2016) and the United Nations Mission in Liberia (2008-2012). Prior to that ambassador Loej had a long career in the Danish Foreign Service including as Permanent Representative of Denmark to the United Nations in New York and Denmark’s representative on the Security Council (2005-2006).
Ellen Margrethe L¿j, Special Representative and Head of the United Nations Mission in the Republic of South Sudan (UNMISS) speaks to press at stakeout following a Security Council Meeting on South Sudan

Major General Michael Anker Lollesgaard

Major General Michael Anker Lollesgaard, Denmark, is currently the Chief of the Danish Army. Major General Lollesgaard previously served as the Force Commander of the United Nation Multidimensional Integrated Stabilization Mission in Mali as well as the Chair of the Redeployment Coordination Committee in Yemen.
Gen Lollesgaard
Swedint Advisory Board

Major General S B Asthana

Major General S B Asthana, India, is currently the Chief Instructor of all Courses for military officers at the United Service Institute of India. Major General Asthana is a member of the International Organization of Educational Development and the International Council on Global Conflict Resolution. Major General Asthana previously served as the Deputy Chief Integrated Support Services in United Nations Mission in Ethiopia and Eritrea.
GenMaj Asthana
Swedint Advisory Board