Mission EUMM was established in September 1991 covering Bosnia, Serbia (including Kosovo), Montenegro, Albania and FYROM.

The headquarters are located in Sarajevo. The Swedish forces consist of seven monitors. The mandate is based on a number of agreements with the parties concerned from 1991 onwards.

Mission tasks

EUMM's task is to monitor and report on the political situation, and on security policy issues in particular plus border and inter ethnic matters. EUMM is also expected to provide early warnings of potential unrest and destabilisation, and undertake confidence-restoring measures in the mission area. Until 23 December 2000 EUMM went under the name of ECMM or European Community Monitoring Mission.