Current international missions

The Swedish Armed Forces currently serve in more than twenty countries. Our missions overseas primarily involve peacekeeping troops supporting security efforts. A total of around 400* Swedish military personnel are currently serving outside Sweden. Missions vary in size from small numbers of observers or advisers, to hundreds of servicemen and women. In Sweden, our rapid response units are permanently ready for deployment to all parts of the country.

*As at October 2017.

Afghanistan (Resolute Support Mission)

Since the end of 2001, Sweden has contributed military forces to NATO-led operations in Afghanistan. The initial focus of the Swedish mission centred on the region around the capital, Kabul, where Swedish troops supported Afghan security forces. When NATO operations subsequently widened to the rest of the country, Swedish personnel joined a group led by United Kingdom forces in Mazar-e-Sharif.

Central African Republic (EUTM RCA)

The training initiative in the Central African Republic involves around 170 people from a number of European countries. This initiative was established to provide support to the national army. Sweden is contributing up to 15 people, and around eight people have already been deployed in 2018.

Democratic Republic of Congo (MONUSCO)

The UN Security Council established MONUSCO in 1999 to supervise the implementation of the ceasefire agreement signed in Lusaka in July of that year by the Democratic Republic of Congo, Rwanda, Uganda, Angola, Zimbabwe and Namibia. The agreement was subsequently also signed by the Movement for the Liberation of Congo, (MLC), and the Congolese Rally for Democracy, (RCD).

Hungary (HAW)

Heavy Airlift Wing, (HAW), is a multinational initiative that includes Sweden as its second largest nation, with 550 annual flying hours. The other eleven participating countries are: Bulgaria, Estonia, Finland, Lithuania, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovenia, Hungary and the United States.

India and Pakistan (UNMOGIP)

Established in 1949, UNMOGIP supervises the ceasefire between India and Pakistan along the Line of Control in Jammu and Kashmir.


Sweden’s military involvement in Iraq consists of a force of 70 personnel tasked with training Iraqi armed forces. The mission is designed to help Iraqi armed forces to resist the development of so-called Islamic State (IS). If required, the Swedish detachment can be temporarily strengthened by a force of no more than an additional 120 servicemen or women.

Korea (NNSC)

The task of the Neutral Nations Supervisory Commission, (NNSC), has evolved throughout its lifetime, and is currently focused on maintaining the validity of the truce mechanism between North and South Korea with the aid of a Swedish and Swiss presence in the demilitarised zone.

Kosovo (KFOR)

KFOR is a NATO-led multi-national force responsible for establishing and maintaining peace and security in Kosovo. This includes maintaining general law and order, and ensuring that agreements that have been reached between factions at the end of the Kosovo war are adhered to. The force also supports the UN transitional administration in the province.

Mali (EUTM Mali)

At the request of the Malian government and on the basis of UN resolutions the EU agreed to establish a mission to train the Malian Armed Forces. The First Mandate for the EUTM (EU Training Mission) in Mali was established in February 2013.


In April 2013, the UN Security Council adopted resolution 2100, which established the United Nations Multidimensional Integrated Stabilization Mission in Mali, (MINUSMA). In July of the same year, the military forces of the African-led International Support Mission to Mali, (AFISMA), was integrated into the UN mission.

Middle East (UNTSO)

UNTSO was established in 1948 to monitor ceasefires and peace agreements between Egypt, Israel, Lebanon, and Syria.

Somalia (EUTM Somalia)

The European Union Training Mission Somalia, (EUTM), was launched in April 2010. The purpose of the initiative is to contribute to the stabilisation of the security situation in Somalia in accordance with the 2008 Djibouti agreement.

South Sudan (UNMISS)

The United Nations Mission in the Republic of South Sudan, (UNMISS), was launched in July 2011 and covers all regions of the Republic of South Sudan. Its headquarters are located in the capital city of Juba. Three battalions are grouped across the area with battalion headquarters in Wau, Malakal and Juba.

Western Sahara (MINURSO)

Western Sahara is situated in the north-western part of Africa and is surrounded by Morocco, Mauritania and Algeria. Spain controlled the area up to 1976, but left following a protracted armed conflict with the guerilla movement Frente Polisario (Frente Popular de Liberación de Saguía el Hamra y Río de Oro). Mauritania and Morocco advanced into the area, and the Frente Polisario took up the battle with the new rulers.

Yemen (UNMHA)

Over the last four years, the ongoing conflict in Yemen has escalated to a catastrophic level with large parts of the population in need of humanitarian aid to avoid starvation.