It is made up of four shared schools: The Flying School, Air Surveillance and Air Control School, the Aircrew Training School, the Air Base School including Rescue, Clearance and Repair. The Air Combat Training School also develops materiel, methods and aerial units. A third, important task are missions and mission preparedness, and the continuous monitoring of Swedish airspace.